Hell Holes 2 – Reviews

Summary

Stars Reviews
5 Stars 20
4 Stars 10
3 Stars 4
2 Stars 0
1 Star 0
4.5 Stars 34 Reviews

 

5 Star Reviews

Can’t wait to see it on the big screen (5 Stars)

By Aoife Marie Sheridan on November 13, 2017 (Original Amazon Review and Original Goodreads Review)

We all just might get to see Hell Holes on the big screen. Right now scriptwriters are working on it, you can read the [initial outline of the script] on Donald Firesmith’s website.

Demons on the Dalton picks right up where “What Lurks Below” left off. There is a difference this time as the book is told through the eyes of Angela Jack’s wife, instead of Jack himself. At first I wasn’t sure but once I started to read, the story took over and Angela in a sense was as good as her husband.

Book Two is faster than book one, and we get to see more demons and the exact scale of things. Most of the book is staged on the Dalton, but it doesn’t take away from the story at all. The danger element is always there, and one scene that I found to be written exceptionally well was when they were driving through a wall of fire. I could almost feel the heat while reading it.

Mr Firesmith has a way of not just telling a story but educating us also, which is something I loved. Aileen as always is amazing and we get to learn more about her own secret society and the demons.

The ending isn’t the cliffhanger that book one was, but I wanted book three even more than I had wanted book two because of the way it ends, and I really can’t wait to get to read it.

Overall a fast and exciting read that I would recommend to all fantasy and sci-fi readers.

Don Firesmith has done it again (5 Stars)

By Mary Jane F. on October 15, 2017 (Original Amazon Review and Original Goodreads Review)

This awesome creation is an exciting read – quite an adventure!!! Hell Holes: Demons on the Dalton continues the terrifying tale begun in book one, and I recommend it to everyone that enjoys a fantastic and well-written adventure. Can’t wait to read the next one in the series. Well done, Mr. Firesmith!!!

Five Stars (5 Stars)

By Amazon Customer on October 4, 2017 (Original Amazon Review)

Because I could not put it down, I read half the book in one night.

A fun read. Highly recommended. (5 Stars)

By Jeri J & Rich Walker on October 4, 2017 (Original Amazon Review)

Even better than the first one! A great mix of science and fantasy. I also liked the way that the characters were filled out. This made the story more personal, which made me feel like I was there with them.

Gest (5 Stars)

By Kindle Customer on August 2, 2017 (Original Amazon UK Review)

What a clever new type of book. Really enjoyed both one and two of the series. Can’t wait to see what happens in the third book.

The first in the series made me sit up and take note (5 Stars)

By Avid book(devouring)worm on July 14, 2017 (Original Amazon Canada Review)

This, the second installment does not disappoint. Definitely a new author to follow closely! Already on my follow list. Broke my own (self imposed) rule about buying ANY more books to grab this one. I’m sure I’ll still happily break it again. THESE BOOKS ARE ADDICTIVE.

Great read!!! (5 Stars)

By Joshua S. Bishop on June 26, 2017 (Original Amazon Review)

This book and the first book in the series were great reads. It was hard to put them down for a minute. Good characters and plot. An alternate look at a first contact situation. Can’t wait till the next in the series.

Hot, hot, hot! (5 Stars)

By Amy Hubbard on April 26, 2017 (Original Amazon Review)

I love that the author used a different point of view in story! Join the remaining group from Pump Station 2…the 1700 year old Demon Hunter, the Climatologist, and the Geologist as they continue to battle their way through the occupants of hell! Now they are joined up with the army. Will they be successful in their mission! Can’t wait to read the next book!

More dangerous (5 Stars)

By Brandy Mulder on April 25, 2017 (Original Amazon Review)

I thought this was interesting as it picks up right where the first book stopped but it’s from his wife’s [point of view]. You don’t have to read the first book as there is a small recap at the beginning but I recommend reading it first as there are a lot of details. This book covers their trip down a dangerous highway trying to escape the demons. Lots of danger, blood, and horror surround them as they also have to decide if people are actually devils hiding as people. There is violence and no adult content. I recommend 13+ age.

Hell comes to town, yes it did. And you will like it (5 Stars)

By ReallyBigSwede on April 20, 2017 (Original Amazon Review)

Love the series. I really like the twist and a new kind of sy-fy. I so far read 2 of them going to get the other really fast.

Official Review: Hell Holes 2 by Donald Firesmith (4 out of 4 Stars – Excellent*)

By Lane Vespertine on October 27, 2016 (Original Online Book Club Review)

* Because the Online Book Club rating system only goes up to 4 stars (described as either “Excellent” or “Amazing!”), I have lumped this review in with the standard 5 star reviews.

Hell Holes 2 is the action horror sequel to Hell Holes, written by Donald Firesmith. It is the continuation of an event first described in Hell Holes, namely that holes have opened in Northern Alaska and demons are coming out of them. In the first book, the perspective is of Dr. Jack Oswald. But in Hell Holes 2, we now follow the words and reactions of his wife and fellow scientist, Dr. Angela Menendez. The format with which these narratives are presented is via the “I Remember Project,” which details the first-hand experiences of those involved with the demon invasion through their own words long after the events have concluded.

If you are interested in going back to the first Hell Holes and starting from the beginning, please skip ahead past the next two paragraphs because they will give a general summary of the plot of the second in the series and include spoilers of the first. Still here? Good. Dr. Menendez begins by giving an account of how she, her husband, a photojournalist named Aileen O’Shannon, and four others made a trek to a mysterious hole that opened on the North Slope. She continues to say that demons came out of the hole and killed four of her party, leaving just her, her husband, and O’Shannon.

After many close calls, the story now picks up with the three of them driving south to keep ahead of the demon invasion. O’Shannon, far from being a photojournalist, is actually a “guardian,” part of a secretive group called the Tutores Contra Infernum who have tasked themselves with fighting demons throughout history whenever they appear. These demons are classed into two groups, lower and higher. The lower demons are venomous animals and include hellhounds (much bigger than a wolf) and gargoyles. The higher demons are more anthropomorphic and intelligent and include imps (small and moderately intelligent) and devils (adult human sized and devilishly clever.) The two academics and the guardian, who can use what many would call magic, encounter problems and roadblocks because of these demons along their way south on the Dalton Highway.

I did not read the first book, Hell Holes, before reading its sequel. Although I had no problems figuring out who the characters were and what had happened before, I would still recommend that any reader interested should begin at the beginning. If I had known how much fun I was going to have reading Hell Holes 2, I would have started with the first one. Unfortunately, since I know what happened in the second, and I doubt it would be as thrilling as it should be.

The only detail of the book that simply didn’t work for me was the structure of the “I Remember Project.” It is very reminiscent of the book World War Z, where it did work. Here, however, since the whole of the novel is the perspective of one woman, it seems superfluous. I do not feel there is a need to explain why the perspective from the first book changed, let alone attaching that shift to a larger “Project.” In short, it is unnecessary and unmemorable. I had forgotten its existence entirely until reviewing my notes for this review.

I was genuinely surprised how engaged I was with this story. I expected it to be a bit of fun and maybe an easy way to kill and afternoon. It was both, but also had a professionalism and maturity that, for me, took it to the next level.

A small detail in Hell Holes 2 endeared me to it. Two of the main characters are married academic doctors (as in, Ph.D.) There is no point in this novel where the male character is referred to as “Dr.” and the female character is called anything other than “Dr.” It is pet peeve of mine in books and television (and life) that women who have earned a title are usually called by their first name when their title is relevant. This detail should not, on its own, be reason for applause. But by avoiding an example of common and subtle gender related discrimination, Hell Holes 2 gives full professional respect to the women in the story, and that is awesome.

Hell Holes 2 has a lot of silly elements; magic and demons mostly. But that fact doesn’t stop Firesmith from both having a great name and writing this story very well. The characters are relatable, the pace is driving, and the editing is almost perfect. Crazy events happen non-stop throughout Hell Holes 2, but I never felt confused or unclear about exactly where everyone was or what they were doing. For this feat, I congratulate the author and rate this book 4 out of 4 stars.

Another Great Book in the Series (5 Stars)

By Amazon Customer on October 9, 2016 (Original Amazon Review)

Another great book in the series. Extremely action packed but still feels very real. I enjoyed getting to know a little more about the characters. I also very much enjoyed the military aspect of the book; it added a realness to the book I quite enjoyed. Can’t wait for book three.

Can’t Wait for the Next Volume!! (5 Stars)

By Amazon Customer on August 11, 2016 (Original Amazon Review)

I really enjoyed reading this book on the heals of the first volume. This one takes the story further and develops characters more fully as they move through even greater challenges. Both were great fun and this volume improves upon the first. One thing I really enjoy is how easy it is to imagine the scenes the book describes. One can almost watch the movie in their heads as they read. Really super job!

Great 2nd Book of Hell Holes (5 Stars)

By Gina and Patrick Costin on July 22, 2016 (Original Amazon Review)

Dr. Jack Oswald tells of the first four days of their expedition to The North Slope, Alaska. Sent there to research the strange sink holes cropping up all over Alaska Dr. Jack Oswald tells of the events leading up to the expedition and once there the things that he and his team witnessed and endured at the location and continues until the team barely escapes from the Trans-Alaska Pipeline’s Pump Station 2. You will find this horrifyingly emotional tale in Book 1, Hell Holes: What Lurks Below.

This is book 2 of Hell Holes and is given the title Demons on the Dalton, by Dr. Jack Oswald’s wife, Dr. Angela Menendez. She continues from where Jack left off. The moment they escaped Pump Station 2 and started out on their harrowing 350 mile trek along the Dalton Highway heading to Fairbanks.

This book is full of fast-paced action, as well as emotional turmoil and a few times I found myself clutching my computer desk, unable to stop reading because I was so anxious about what would happen next. There were definitely some surprises I didn’t expect, that the book would have been fine without, but added another layer of amped up adrenaline, which made it even more realistic.

I myself have never been a fan of sci-fi, but after reading these two books by Donald Firesmith I am looking forward to checking out some more sci-fi books, and hopefully he will continue on with a third book of this series.

Hell Holes – Demons on the Dalton (5 Stars)

By R. P. Smith on April 29, 2016 (Original Amazon Review)

This novel follows on from the first novel, Hell Holes – What Lurks Below and is, again, written in journal form but this time by Dr. Angela Menendez, the wife of the author of the first journal. She follows on more-or-less where the last account ended, and it’s amazing that a book written by the same author (Donald Firesmith) can fool one into thinking that it’s written by a completely different person. Such is the strength of the writing that the new “author” (Dr. Menendez) shines through and her personality & writing style is quite different to that of the other journal’s surrogate author, her fictional husband.

Again, the novel is rapid-fire action, all the way and I really can’t wait for the next installment.

Demons on the Dalton: A Fast-Paced, Will-They-Make-It Thriller (5 Stars)

By Heidi A. Price on May 7, 2016 (Original Amazon Review)

I have to admit that this isn’t my usual genre, but I was captivated from pretty much the first page. Demons on the Dalton is a fast-paced, will-they-make-it thriller that also takes small detours into details that give you an even stronger relationship with the characters that Firesmith introduced us to in Hell Holes: What Lurks Below. Firesmith knows his Alaskan terrain, and that reflects in his writing, which leaves his readers with a sense of the majesty and desolation of northern Alaska.

This book is about demons and fantastical creatures to be sure, but it is also explores themes of beauty, kindness, protecting our ecosystem, and the strength of long-time love.

More Excitement in Alaska (5 Stars)

By tas@sei.cmu.edu on May 24, 2016 (Original Amazon Review)

The second book of Donald Firesmith’s Hell Hole series, Demons on the Dalton, is just as riveting if not more so than the first one.

The continuing saga of the plight and flight of the scientists and their Curatrix will keep you totally enthralled. The mix of fantasy and science is perfect to make the story believable. If you like fantasy, science, and a good thriller, this is the book for you.

I can’t wait to see the continuation of the story.

Great Pace (5 Stars)

By MerriSki on May 31, 2016 (Original Amazon Review)

Great follow on to the first book. The story moves at a fast pace and definitely holds your interest. It is suspenseful, and I find myself caring more and more about the characters and rooting for them to win. I can’t wait for the third book to find out what is inside a hell hole!

Out of the Frying Pan and Into the Fire (5 Stars)

By Brian’s Book Blog on May 4, 2016 (Original Amazon Review)

Join the team after they have survived the attacks that the “hell holes” have brought upon the oil fields of Alaska. Follow along as they try to escape with their lives, but they will soon find out that they are out of the frying pan and into the fire.

First things first, take a look at that awesome cover. Really gives the reader a feeling that they are going to be going for a ride when they pick this book out.

In “crossover” books like this (it’s fantasy and real-world), it’s easy to get caught up in the details. Trying to explain why someone has magical powers or where a character came from can really bog down a good story. Firesmith is able to skip these mundane details but still write a story that feels full and detail oriented. I love the fact that I don’t normally like books with fantasy elements in them, but the Hell Holes series has allowed me to enjoy a sprinkle of fantasy with my thrillers.

The fantasy elements (in case you’re curious) involve different demons: gargoyles, imps, and hell hounds. Along with a witch or curatrix as she is called in these books. There is also a secret society of people who have been keeping these demons at bay for centuries. Now, sprinkle these elements in with an extremely well thought out thriller and I’m intrigued.

Overall, Hell Holes: Demons on the Dalton was a wonderfully written book that had my heart pounding from beginning to end. A thriller through and through.

The length was really nice for me too. Sometimes I enjoy reading a novella or a shorter novel. Especially when you pack as much into them as Firesmith has with Demons on the Dalton.

I was given an early copy of this novel in exchange for my honest and unbiased opinion.

Hell Day Plus One (5 Stars)

By Pavel H. on May 4, 2016 (Original Amazon Review)

The book describes Hell Day Plus One, an escape from the Alaska North Slope and continuing south on the Dalton Highway. You will probably read this book in one breath, once you started the previous Hell Holes: What Lurks Below. Especially, if you like books with solid scientific underpinnings in Michael Crichton’s style with a touch of J.K. Rowling’s magic.

 

4 Star Reviews

Fun follow up in a wicked series (4 Stars)

By Laura Thomas on October 27, 2017 (Original Amazon Review and Original Goodreads Review)

It started with mysterious holes appearing overnight in the tundra of the North Slope in Alaska. A team of seven, including Jack, a geologist, his wife, Angela, a climatologist, Aileen, a reporter with a secret power, and four others are hired by Exxon Mobil to investigate. When the very hounds of Hell crawl out of one of the holes and start killing, the team races south on Dalton Highway, one of the ten most dangerous roads, trying to reach Fairbanks and safety. Soon, imps and gargoyles join the hellhounds in pursuit. Only three of the team members make it to the SUV and begin their escape. The Demon War has begun.

Jack told his story of how it all began in the first book. Now, Angela tells what happens next.

As the three survivors race down the highway, they encounter more and more demons. And the demons have some surprising tricks up their sleeve that don’t bode well. It’s attack after attack. Every time it seems like they’ve found safety, it goes to hell in a hand basket. Even the military, with all of their technology and weapons, don’t stand a chance.

After what I’ve just read, I have now decided that if there’s ever an apocalypse, I’ll take zombies over demons any time. Some of these of creatures are dumber than a box of rocks, but they are guided by higher demons, smart ones, and can inflict major damage.

The author sure doesn’t give his characters a break. And he keeps the action and suspense at full throttle. How many demons are there? Do they have a weakness? And most important, how do we stop them? The answer is one you can’t begin to imagine.

I take from the ending that there’s more to come. I have an idea where it will go and sure excited to see how that works out.

Review of Hell Holes Demons on the Dalton (4 Stars)

By Sonya Loraine Beadle on September 23, 2017 (Original Amazon UK Review)

Ridiculously far-fetched but nevertheless enjoyable, the pace of the action and the well rounded characters kept me enthralled throughout.

Great Adventure (4 Stars)

By Hazel M. (Hazel Anne Kaj) on August 3, 2017 (Original Amazon Australia Review and Original Smashwords Review)

Amazon Australia: The author continues the drama with book 2. Demons, imps and gargoyles invade Alaska via hell holes with geologists, good magic – and the US Army – keeping the action going. Looking forward to Book 3.

Smashwords: Book 2 continues straight on without a gap. As the demon invasion gathers momentum, our geologists flee towards the possible safety of ťhe US Army, but the hoards are equally determined to stop them. The race is on !! Can they hold out? Fast-paced with tense moments all along the Dalton Highway.

Action packed (4 Stars)

By Patti Hays on April 28, 2017 (Original Amazon Review and Original iBooks Review)

This book 2 maintains the same level of heart pumping action. As told by the wife’s perspective, it does a good job of recapping book one to transition to the action in book two. There is a lot of blood and tragedy so be forewarned. The relationship between husband and wife seems so very clinical but when you factor in that they are scientists, these two may not be the lovey covey type. There are great new elements in book two that fits in perfectly to the continuing storyline. A great fast paced read!

Great! (4 Stars)

By Kristine Zeph (Blogger of A Cozy Booknook) on April 23, 2017 (Original Amazon Review)

This is a great second installment of this series! I really liked that a different character’s perspective was given in this book. The story is fast paced and full of action and adventure. I was pleased to see more information and background given on one of the characters. While this book can be read as a stand-alone – the author does a great job of summarizing the first book – I highly recommend reading the books in order to get the full impact of the story. I’m looking forward to reading what comes next.

I recommend this series to any adult fan of: Fast paced and action packed Sci-fi’s and Paranormal stories (4 Stars)

By Stories To Live By (Courtney) on April 2, 2017 (Original Amazon Review)

After losing so many members, Jack Oswald’s research team turns into a three person survival group consisting of: a geologist (Jack), a climatologist (Angie) and a 1,400 year old curatrix / demon hunter (Aileen). Faced with only two real options: A) Stay, fight and (most likely) die or B) Venture down the treacherous Dalton highway towards the relative safety of Fairbanks.

Deciding they would rather take their chances on the Dalton, the three survivors take off and begin their 350 mile race to safety. However, the dangers of traveling the severely worn and unpredictable terrain of one of the world’s most dangerous roads is the least of their problems. The hellish army of devils, imps, hellhounds and gargoyles are advancing, ruthlessly destroying everything and everyone in their path.

Along the way, the group is faced with all kinds of life threatening situations. Between picking up tricky, hitchhiking devils, flat tires, demonic attacks and much needed bathroom breaks, and all in such a short manner of time, they just can’t seem to catch a break. Two additions to the team are eventually made when they come across two young siblings, Adam and Amy Anderson, alone and in desperate need of help. Together they narrowly escape an enclosing forest fire, only to exit right into the middle of a battle field between the U.S. army and the demons.

Helping the army win the battle, they team up to formulate a plan that they hope will destroy the demons once and for all, or at the very least prevent them from returning to Earth indefinitely. They’re going to go back to the the Hell Holes, find the demons’ portal and move the battle to their world.

“If we are truly going to stop them, we will have to go into hell to do it.”

Demons on the Dalton by Donald G. Firesmith is written in Dr. Angela Menendez’s POV, starting where What Lurks Below ends. I like that in this series (so far), each book is written in a different perspective. While I still recommend reading book 1, Dr. Angela Menendez gives a great recap of her husbands account of the teams first four days, since Jack received that phone call from Kowalski until right before starting their trip down the Dalton highway.

I did notice a bit more spelling and grammar mistakes in this book and a couple of repeating lines, but not so many that they take away from the story.

I was glad to see that Aileen O’Shannon’s character and the secret society she’s apart of was explained more in depth. We even get to meet a few more members of the Tutores Contra Infernum . Very interesting.

I enjoyed the second installment of the Hell Holes series and look forward to seeing where book 3 will take us. I recommend this series to any adult fan of: Fast paced and action packed Sci-fi’s and Paranormal stories.

**** I received an eBook copy of this title in exchange for my honest review. Thank you to Booktasters for introducing me to this author and thank you to Donald G. Firesmith for giving me the chance to read and review his books. ****

A nice continuation (4 Stars)

By Amanda Kaye on January 20, 2017 (Original Amazon Review)
First off let me say this is the second in a series and that you will want to read book one first. That being said don’t read any farther unless you want to see spoilers. In book one a team went to discover why hundreds of holes opened in the ground near an Alaskan pipeline. What they found was terrifying, demons from a version of “hell”. And we found out that Aileen, the photographer that was brought along, was not a normal person. Only 3 survived that encounter, 2 scientists (the married couple of Angela and Jack) and Aileen. Aileen is from an ancient order that is protecting humans. In this book the 3 are trying to run from the demon army and Aileen is doing her best to keep them alive, but how long will she be successful? Not to give too much away but in this book we see the US military flex its muscles as well as some other things happening.

This was an interesting continuation to the series and I enjoyed it just as much as the first one. Although in my opinion there could have been some fighting between Angela and Jack because they seem too nice to each other. Adding in the children seems to add in a newer sense of urgency than before. You can actually picture the demons in your head from the descriptions.

There was enough nail biting and plenty of surprises to keep me wholly satisfied as I read (4 Stars)

By Angela Kay on January 18, 2017 (Original Amazon Review)
Hell Holes: Demons on the Dalton is volume two of What Lurks Below. It’s another action/adventure written by Donald Firesmith. This time, we’re in Dr. Angela Menendez’s (Dr. Jack Oswald’s wife) point of view. She picks up where we left off in volume one. Oswald and his team are desperately trying to escape the demons that are set on pursuing them.

The character development was a bit lacking. There were not a whole lot of conflict as I’d imagined there would be. After all, stress and fear make even the nicest person a tiny bit snippy, and I saw none of that in the story. However, I was eager enough to see what would happen next to not worry about the lack of character conflicts. There was enough nail biting and plenty of surprises to keep me wholly satisfied as I read. The ending was left as though a continuation could come into play. Or possibly it’s left for our imagination to work out. We’ll see what Firesmith has in store for us next.

Another Winner in the Hell Holes Series (4 Stars)

By Dave Robertson on August 31, 2016 (Original Amazon Review)
Hell Holes: Demons on the Dalton is another action-packed battle/race with demons that were introduced in the first book. Like the first book, the story moves pretty steadily with liberal amounts of action and suspense. In this second installment, the US military gets involved and we’re put right into the middle of a war. There are some other new elements in book 2, but I won’t spoil it for those who have yet to read it. If you like action/adventure, this book will not disappoint you. I’m looking forward to book 3.
Dave Robertson, Author of Strange Hunting, Strange Hunting II, and The Brave and The Dead

I Certainly Enjoyed the Ride (4 Stars)

By Caitlin Halvorson on May 15, 2016 (Original Amazon Review)

I am a coworker at Coldfoot Camp and we received copies of both Hell Holes books for our review. Many thanks to the author for this considerate gesture. Though I can’t speak for the rest of camp (I’m not sure who else here has had time to read it) I will say that, after reading both books today, I certainly enjoyed the ride. The pace was fast, the action near constant, and the descriptions of the demons and their invasion appropriately grotesque. Despite occasional inaccuracies, the setting was researched well and the descriptions of the far north do well to convey the vast, beautiful, and bleak nature of the area. There are some aspects of the characters I would have enjoyed seeing developed more, and some more editing work would have been useful; still, this was an fun read and I am looking forward to the next installment.

[Author’s note: The book has gone through a second round of editing since this review was written.]

 

3 Star Reviews

No title (3 Stars)

By Madame on March 21, 2017 (Original Goodreads Review) and April 8, 2017 (Original Amazon Review)

This second installment perfectly picks up where the initial story left off but told now through the eyes of the original group leader’s spouse. There is now a heavy military influence as well as the demons stepping up their killing spree with new horrific tactics and devilish implements. The much anticipated explanation of how the curatrix heroine came to be is finally revealed. Lots of close calls, kicking butt and action packed moments to be had still. Look forward to the third suspenseful tale in this series.

Packed with action and written very lively so the reader can get involved in the story easily (3 Stars)

By Kerstin Vollbrecht on March 17, 2017 (Original Amazon Review)

This is the second book of the series Hell Holes, but as it starts with a resume of the previous events, it could perfectly stand on it’s own.

In this story, the author describes the adventure of Dr. Oswald and his wife, Dr. Menéndez, a geologist and a climatologist, that were investigating the mysterious appearance of holes along the Alaskan Oil Pipeline, having to flee and to fight against devils and demons. They are joined by Aileen O’Shannon, a curatrix of an ancient order dedicated to that purpose, who occupies her magic against those demons and devils they encounter during their journey to the military headquarters where she is joined by the rest of the order.

The story is entertaining, packed with action and written very lively so the reader can get involved in the story easily. There are many repetitions of the geological facts and of the happenings since the demons emerged from the hell holes, that could be shorter. All in all, it’s an entertaining read that is hard to put away.

Sequel (3 Stars)

By Richard Lang on November 5, 2016 (Original Amazon Review)

In this sequel to Hell Holes, What Lurks Below, Firesmith writes about the continuing war against the demons. Oswald, Martinez and Aileen O’Shannon drive out on the Dalton Highway in an effort to escape the pursuing demons. Along the way, they pick up two small children whose father was killed. They narrowly escape a forest fire and are rescued by the Army and flown to Eielson Air Force Base. At a high-level meeting at the base, a plan to attack the demons is formulated. The plan is to go into the hell holes and find the demons portal and attack them in hell. The ending seems to indicate there may be a third book in this series.

Realistic Action, Unrealistic Relationships

By Gordon A. Long on June 12, 2016 (Original Amazon Review)

In Episode 2 of the “Hell Holes” serial, Angela Mendez and Jack Oswald continue their mad flight up the North Slope of Alaska, a horde of demonic creatures at their backs. As they trundle their increasingly beat-up 4 X 4 through a carefully researched and realistically portrayed landscape, they are subjected to a never-ending series of attacks. But physical danger is only a part of the conflict of a book.
The problem with serials is often character conflict, or the lack of it. One key element to good writing that keeps us connected is the development of relationships (and conflicts) between characters. It is difficult to keep this sort of thing going over long periods of time, such as over several excerpts in a serial.

This is the problem with the Dalton story. The husband-and-wife team of Dr. Angela Mendez and Jack Oswald are very together in all respects. Rarely even a cross word passes between them, no matter how tight the situation.
So in spite of the horrendous enemy and the non-stop action, this book has an action-comic feel to it. Stripped to basic characters, a terrible enemy, and a chase to safety, it roars through the tundra and over the Brooks Range, mace-carrying imps on the backs of flying gargoyles dogging every move our heroes make. The women can’t even stop for a bathroom break without risking a clawing. The description of their drive through the demon-laced forest fire is true genius.

So it’s all sorts of frightening fun, but it doesn’t go much farther than that. The only new sympathy we gain is due to the insertion of two small children who must be protected by our heroes. This works in a limited way because it raises the stakes. But the best suspense in the whole story is the teaser for the next issue, which promises an even more dangerous and horrifying task. Hopefully Mr. Firesmith will see fit to add some interpersonal conflict as well to his next offering.

Recommended for fans of paranormal action/adventure, with emphasis on the action.

[Author’s note: The ending has been updated with one such conflict. In addition, a surprise on the demon home world will lead to a major interpersonal conflict in Hell Holes 3: To Hell and Back.]

 

2 Star Reviews

None

 

1 Star Reviews

None

1,082 total views, 5 views today

Comments are closed.