Hell Holes 4 – Reviews

← Back to Hell Holes 4: A Slave’s Revenge

Summary

Stars Reviews Percent
5 Star Reviews 18 100%
4 Star Reviews 0 0%
3 Star Reviews 0 0%
2 Star Reviews 0 0%
1 Star Reviews 0 0%
5.0 Stars 18 Reviews 100%

Because Amazon occasionally deletes reviews without explanation, some Amazon reviews below might have links that no longer work. Because they don’t tell me which reviews they delete, I don’t know which reviews were deleted.

5 Star Reviews

18) Tanya’s Review ★★★★★

By Tanya Wheeler on 24 September 2021 (Amazon UK Review and Goodeads Review)

He was taken with his mother and sister as slaves in hell. He intends to get his revenge and get his freedom back for them and him. How can he do it? Will he be able to do it? Will they finally get away? See if he can do it.

17) Jade O’Hara’s review ★★★★★

By Jade O’Hara’s on 19 September 2021 (Goodeads Review)

A great addition to the Hell Holes series! A Slave’s Revenge is an adventure – in fact, the whole series is. I fell in love with the first of the series and read all the others in one breath. This book answered so many questions I had; it is a prequel to the series. It was exciting and I’m glad the author did it. An absolute must-read for the fans of Hell Holes and all the readers who enjoy quality, compelling books.

16) A great read ★★★★★

By Dani Bashline on 3 September 2021 (Amazon US Review)

I couldn’t put this one down. Donald weaves a very compelling prequel to the first 3 books, and I recommend you read those too! Although this is not a favorite genre of mine, the writing enabled me to thoroughly enjoy all of the books in this series.

15) BooksShelf.com’s Review ★★★★★

By BooksShelf on 2 September 2021 (Goodreads Review)

Hell Holes 4: A Slave’s Revenge is a unique and extremely thrilling book. I haven’t read the series and this is the first book I’m reading from this author. It turned out this is the prequel so in a way I started where I should. The plot is fascinating! I will read the whole series for sure.

14) Linda Abbott’s Review ★★★★★

By Linda Abbott on 21 August 2021 (Goodreads Review)

Normally I don’t like Prequels, but this book is an exception!

I did read Hell Holes books 1-3, that is why I chose to read this book.

The main character Paul Chapman, his twin sister and his parents, are attacked and kidnapped by Devil’s. To be taken to their planet to be slaves, either for labor or food.

To survive Hell, you do what you are told to do, when to do something, or you become food. Only the most strongest, most loyal slaves survive for very long.

I love this book because not only do you get to learn what happened leading up to book 1, but can read as a stand alone book. It is a story in and of itself.

I received an advance review copy for free, and I am leaving this review voluntarily.

13) Demons and Aliens…Epic… ★★★★★

By Nancy Allen (The Avid Reader) on 12 August 2021 (Amazon US Review and Goodreads Review)

A Slave’s Revenge is about life on a planet called H3!! as a slave. 15-year-old Paul Chapman, his mother, and his twin sister are transported to H3!! by demonic aliens, after they kill his father. Paul and his sister are separated from their mother upon their arrival on the planet H3!!.

There are only a few rules that slaves on planet H3!! must follow. They are simple and to the point, but the punishment for disobeying will become fatal quickly. The only way to survive on H3!! is to be the best slave ever or become food for their demon masters.

The descriptions are so very graphic making it very easy to see it playing out in my head as if I was watching a movie. A Slave’s Revenge was so superbly written I could see and hear everything as if I was right there with Paul, his sister, and the rest of their crew as they went about their daily chores trying to follow all the rules and just trying to stay alive in all that misery and filth.

There were so many times where my heart just broke for Paul. I was like how can one person endure so much pain. A Slave’s Revenge has so many different feelings it is like riding the waves. One minute the feelings were up, and then the next they were down. Paul had quite a few sad times, but he did have some happy times too.

I fell in love with this series, Hell Holes from the very beginning with the first book What Lurks Below as the demons came pouring out of that hole in the ground. This is one amazing series. One that I can’t seem to get enough of.

I would like to recommend A Slave’s Revenge to all horror-filled, gory, blood-curling, and sci-fi fans. Grab your copy today for an epic. horror-filled adventure! I would also like to recommend that you start with the first book What Lurks Below. It is my opinion that the books be read in order so you can get the full experience and not miss out on a thing.

12) Superb Read ★★★★★

By Amy Shannon (Amy’s Bookshelf Reviews) on 21 July 2021 (Amazon US Review)

Firesmith pens a magnificent prequel to his Hell Holes Series. I read the books that came before this one in the series, and now, the prequel is here. The alien demons are taking who they want, and making them slaves. Hell is not what we perceive as Hell; it’s a planet all of its own. We learn about Paul and his family, and the hellish journey he must face not to just survive, but get out from under this devilish predicament. What I like about the story, besides the characters, the ultimate evil alien devils, is there are underlying plots, that are more than just part of the story, they are the story. Humanity, survival, and dealing with loss, in the most impossible way. This author has a great imagination, and I’m glad it’s being shared with stories. It is a very well-written story, and I enjoyed it. It is always a joy to read this author’s stories. A definite attention grabber, so much I couldn’t put it down. It’s literally out of this world! Action-packed, and it takes the reader on a superb journey. This read is more than just words on a page. Hell Holes 4: A Slave’s Revenge is a definite recommendation by Amy’s Bookshelf Reviews. I look forward to reading many more stories by this author.

11) Pavel’s Review ★★★★★

By Pavel H. on 21 July 2021 (Amazon US Review and Goodreads Review)

The perfect blend of action and mystery. The magic that dominated the previous 3 volumes of Hell Holes was gradually replaced by psychological probes of the characters’ decisions in Hell. This is the best book in the brilliant series. The story completely pulled me in, and once I started reading this book, it was very difficult to take breaks. Keep it in mind.

10) Exciting! ★★★★★

By Jame J. on 21 July 2021 (Amazon US Review and Goodreads Review)

Donald Firesmith has done it again. Hell Holes #4 is a purely enjoyable read, as are the others in the series. I am not a big science fiction reader, but his coherent and lively style makes this series real page turners. Would recommend to readers of any genre. You wouldn’t be able to put them down.

9) Hell’s Fury ★★★★★

By Ann Keeran on 22 and 19 July 2021 (Amazon US Review and Goodreads Review)

Amazon: Suppose Hell is a place on earth. Suppose that you and your mother and sister are sent there. What would you do to survive?

Goodreads: Going to Hell is extremely bad when you’re dead, but suppose you’re still alive! If you had a choice you could pick slave labor, being a gladiator or the absolute best – food for the devils and otherworldly creatures. But of course there is no choice, you do what you’re told. Donald Firesmith has written a superb account of life in Hell. Destined to be a classic.

8) Best Book Yet! ★★★★★

By Crystal Fenerty on 18 July (1 August) 2021 (Amazon CA Review and Goodreads Review)

Absolutely the best book yet in the series.
This book follows Paul, the slave rescued in the previous book, and tells of his life as a slave to the demons on their world. The book is well paced and kept me intrigued through to the end. Also answers a lot of questions about the demons I had from previous books in this series.
Definitely recommend everyone read this book.

7) Brilliant book that really stands out! ★★★★★

By B. Sinsational on 17 July (updated 1 August) 2021 (Amazon US Review and Goodreads Review)

I read this book first as a beta reader; when that was done I knew that it would be edited and completed.
To my surprise it STILL held a unworldly allure and magnetic pull; I was so intrigued and wanted to read it in its finished state.
So by my own request I got a chance to get the finished book, grabbing it with the joyous heart of a reading addict, I happily chose to re-read it, not because I had to, but because it felt like I needed more. I couldn’t let go, even on the second round I found it was still unputdownable, and beyond very intriguing.
Originally in part I felt I wanted to see if it would have the same impact and evoke the same kind of feelings from a readers point of view.
THAT, I can answered by a definite YES!
By all accounts and in all honesty: The appeal and allure had not faded, I still felt that pull. A deep rooted wish to head plunge into this amazing story when it was in its full glory.

I should admit I extremely seldom re-read any book, because I have a good memory, and usually I feel like I’m “done” with a book once I’ve read it.
So this is a MAJOR exception.
That is a testament if anything to that the book is brilliant.

Regardless if you read it for leisure, or to scrutinize it, the outcome is the same.

In this book, you find well developed characters with depth, and flaws, shortcomings and strong suits.
A vividly skillful built “world”, full of life forms of all sorts.
A hero that is also a anti hero (very intriguing).
A storyline that even after reading it twice still felt mind boggling and stunning.
And that’s just the obvious.
Then there are utterly brilliant dialogues, cheeky humor, emotion invoking events, and heart pinching happenings that stuck in my mind.

I’m totally blown away in a way I haven’t been since I read the first Outlander book.
And that says a ton!

In short I would sum this book up best if I’d say: IF you want a mind-blowing, wild, unforgettable read, one that you will never forget.. then this book is for you!

* An Admission (from a person who usually never reads a book twice): I am going to read this book a third time, I feel like I’m not all done with it, like the story still holds appeal and beckons me, and I’m drawn to it like a moth to a flame. Its unprecedented that I would feel the want or need to read a book three times! So charting new territory I have to ask… what’s the English word for beyond brilliant??

6) Ann’s Review ★★★★★

By Ann Daniel on 12 July 2021 (Amazon UK Review and Goodreads Review)

I was very honored and thrilled to be asked by Donald to proof read this new chapter in the brilliant Hell Holes series. This is the 4th book in the series, but its actually a prequel of the story of Paul’s life as a slave in Hell. What can I say? As with all of Donald’s books, this is brilliantly written. In fact, I’d go as far as saying this is the best book in the series!! Although I do love all the books in this series as they are brilliantly written. And the story, it an amazing adventure from start to finish. This book actually follows Paul’s story from the moment he is kidnapped along with his mother and sister when he was 15 as they are taken to Hell to start their new lives as slaves, to the moment he becomes free and escapes. This is a very hard hitting, emotional book that did have me in floods of tears many times while reading. The way it is written, you can really feel and witness the emotional roller coaster journey Paul goes through, and it’s heart breaking at times. You can truly feel what he’s going through, and you can’t help but sympathize with Paul as you go with him on this awful journey. During his time in Hell, he must go through many awful situations just to survive what most people could never dream of surviving. While most people would give up and die due to the life they must now live, Paul fights to survive right to the very end. I highly recommend you read this series; you won’t regret it

5) Raymond’s Review ★★★★★

By Raymond Quick on 12 July 2021 (Goodreads Review)

This is one of my favorite authors, and this book shows why. His father killed, mother, sister, and he are captured and taken to a planet called Hell and for a good reason. This is a story about a 15-year-old boy. His anguish at his personal losses and how he manages to survive and rise to the top as a slave. It is well written and somethings didn’t get done because I was reading the book and not cleaning my room. I am 77, and I still get sent to my room. Anyways, get the book and enjoy.

4) A fantastic addition to the series!!! GET IT!!! ★★★★★

By George Graham on 30 June 2021 (Amazon US Review and Goodreads Review)

Are you a fan of Donald Firesmith’s Hell Holes series? Were you interested in where exactly Paul and the alien came from and what they endured there? I was! I remember reading the last book of the series thinking “Boy! Now there’s a story to tell!” Guess what? HERE IT IS! I had the privilege of being a Beta Reader for his latest book Hell Holes 4: A Slave’s Revenge! Donald thoroughly explores the planet Hell, the aliens who run it, and the variety of alien and human slaves that live there. I don’t know where he gets his imagination from, but I would like some of it! You’ll get to find out how Paul gets there and how he survives. The book brings you back to the end of the third book! If you haven’t read the other three books, READ THEM! However, you can read just this one if you so choose. That being said, I still recommend that you read them in order so that, when you’re done with the third one, you can satisfy your curiously like I did!

3) Riveting ★★★★★

By Brandon Cooper on 29 June 2021 (Amazon US Review and Goodreads Review)

Disclaimer: I read this as a beta read for the author.

I enjoyed this book thoroughly. It was a fun read, and he made Hell seem like such a real place, that it is worse than what you’ve been taught in church on Sundays. Plus, he made you feel all kinds of emotions for Paul, from happiness to anger to sadness, that he was almost real.

2) Margaret’s Review ★★★★★

By Margaret Osburn on 29 June 2021 (Goodreads Review)

Oh my, This is one fantastic read. Mr. Firesmith writes beautifully, but he uses unnecessary (cuss) words through out this amazing 5🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 book! I put those aside and read around them. I did not allow them to stop me reading this brilliantly written story! Wow! Mind blowing! This fast paced, imaginative story sucked me in. Between the beautiful book cover to the amazing prologue, I was glued to my seat and I had to read the whole book. Wow! I could not put it down. Suspense built up from the beginning. Wow! Mr. Firesmith’s clever imaginative details and descriptions hit me like a ton of bricks. Wow! You feel all the pain, agony, and despair of the main character. You feel his every emotion and understand his reactions.
If you love science fiction you will love this book. You will experience his journey and feel as if you were by his side through the entire journey.
Fantastic read! Heart pounding moments! Horrific moments! Scary moments! Sad moments! Some happy moments! Moments you don’t want to miss. Pick up a copy as soon as possible and become part of the journey of A Slave’s Revenge. Enjoy!

1) Epic Adventure ★★★★★

By Kim Schup on 28 June 2021 (Amazon US Review and Goodreads Review)

Every once in a long while a book comes along that unceremoniously rips you from your everyday life and catapults you into a thrilling adventure you’ll never forget. This is that book. Paul Chapman, an unassuming 15-year-old boy living with his family in Alaska, is suddenly taken along with his mother and sister to another planet, Hell, where humans are not, by any means, the top of the food chain. Forced into a life of slavery, Paul must learn to endure hardship, brutality, and never-ending hunger knowing that to rebel or break any rules would result in his immediate pitiless punishment or cruel death at the hands of any number of vicious, blood-thirsty demons, devils, hellhounds, or possibly even another human. Over the years, as Paul barely manages to survive, he learns to navigate the treacherous perils of Hell and he is transformed from a carefree teen to a humble field slave, and ultimately a hardened gladiator, valued champion, and the first human member of the personal guard of Åṣh Ķåh-ṭõķ, a high-ranking devil with diabolical plans for the inhabitants of Earth. During his time on Hell, Paul encounters many species from other worlds who, like the humans on Hell, have been enslaved and forced into lives of fear and misery (I think even George Lucas would be impressed with the variety of aliens on Hell). Paul wants nothing more than the opportunity to get revenge for the fate of his family and all others who have fallen under the malevolent rule of the devils. Will that opportunity ever present itself? If so, how, and at what cost? If you enjoy the epic sagas of Edgar Rice Burroughs, the keen and often whimsical imagination of J. R. R. Tolkien or the dark and sinister characters of Frank Herbert, this book will be a relished indulgence. I highly recommend it to all enthusiasts of speculative fiction and to anyone who enjoys a whopping good story.

I was provided with an advance copy of this book but my review is completely voluntary, honest, and unbiased.

4 Star Reviews

3 Star Reviews

2 Star Reviews

1 Star Reviews

Comments are closed.