The Secrets of Hawthorne House – Reviews

Summary

 

Stars Reviews Percent
5 Star Reviews 8 73%
4 Star Reviews 3 27%
3 Star Reviews 0 0%
2 Star Reviews 0 0%
1 Star Reviews 0 0%
4.7 Stars 11 Reviews 100%

5 Star Reviews

8) A lot of action packed into a well written book ★★★★★

By Cranky – The Book Curmudgeon on October 29, 2018 (Original Amazon US Review and Original Goodreads Review)

5 Cranky Stars

Firstly I am a big Harry Potter fan so this book was an excellent book for me! That is where the similarities stop!!!

After Sam’s wife died in an accident he uprooted himself and his children Matt and Tina to back to his home town. Their new home was next door to Hawthorne house, which was very run down. The rumours were that it was haunted and the old lady was a witch. Sam did not believe this and encouraged his young son to go there and offer his services to clean the yard for her.

Old Mrs Hawthorne’s niece and three children moved in with her when the niece Gwendolyn lost her husband in an accident.

Matt soon makes friends with Gerallt and after being bullied at school, strange things kept happening. This is when the fun began.

There is a lot packed into this well written excellent book, there is so much more to this book and of course a happy ending.

7) The Secrets of Hawthorne House is full of history, mystery, magic and great characters. ★★★★★

By Nancy Allen (The Avid Reader) on October 25, 2018 (Original Amazon US Review)

Matt Mitchell lost his mother a year ago in an accident. Matt his twin sister Tina and their father move back to his father’s hometown so they can all get away from the memories that their mother Mary left behind in their cottage by the ocean.

After the move and without their mother’s income the family’s finances start to dwindle. Matt’s father is having a hard time keeping up with all the bills and things Matt and Tina want.

They move next door the famous Hawthorne house. Old Lady Hawthorne a recluse known as the town’s witch and murderer. When Matt wants money for new games and CDs and other things his Dad suggest that he go next door and speak with Lady Hawthorne about taking care of her lawn as it is in dire need of some repair. Matt takes him up on his idea and does just that. He asks Lady Hawthorne for a job and she abides.

Lady Hawthorne’s niece and her three children move in next door. Matt and the oldest son Gerallt become best friends in no time. Gerallt lost his father last year as well. The three Hawthorne children start school with Matt and Tina at Hawthorne High. Matt and Gerallt have a run of bad luck with three bullies at the school. Before long the bullies frame Gerallt and Matt for attacking them and other children which results in Matt and Gerallt getting in school suspension as well as grounded at home.

Matt and Gerallt are both very strong boys and are determined to set things right with the bullies and set out to prove their innocents and to prove to everyone including their parents that they didn’t do what they were accused of. Someone has to do something before someone gets hurt big time by one of the three bullies. How are Matt and Gerallt going to stop the three bullies? Can they stop them? Will their parents ever believe them again?

The Secrets of Hawthorne House is very intriguing and interesting with the history of the Hawthorne house. The stories of how the house came to be and who built it and how it got its name and the stories of all the Gods and Goddess were very interesting as well. The Secrets of Hawthorne House is full of history, mystery, magic and great characters.

When I was reading The Secrets of Hawthorne House it reminded me of the kids in Stephen King’s It and the kids in Stranger Things of how they stuck by each other no matter what they always had each other’s back and kept each other’s secrets. I can’t wait to see what the Mitchell’s and the Hawthorne’s have in store for us in the next book.

The Secrets of Hawthorne House is for anyone who loves a good story with lots of magic. If you like It and Stranger Things then I believe you will like The Secrets of Hawthorne House as well.

6) Is she evil, a witch, or just lonely and scared… ★★★★★

By Genelle Themann (Vudores) on October 15, 2018 (Original Amazon US Review, Original Goodreads Review, and Original BookBub Review)

For Matt Mitchell, life had thrown him lemons and turned those lemons even more sour. He had lost his mother in a horrific accident and then his dad decided to uproot the family from his home in Oregon to Hawthorne, Indiana…a “nowheresville” sleepy town. Here was Matt, with no friends, just getting ready to start his first day in high school. As seems to be the norm in schools everywhere, Matt was excluded and tormented for no greater reason than being the new kid. The stories about the “crazy” next door neighbor and the killings in her house are almost more than Matt can handle. That is until he starts to help the neighbor with yard work. When the neighbor’s niece and kids move in, Matt meets others who are outsiders, and he finally makes some friends. Only thing is, the kids are definitely different.

I received an ARC of this ebook. It was such a great story that I wanted to review it. And I hope that the author continues the saga.

5) You must read this delightful, magical book for all ages! ★★★★★

By Teresa Fronek on October 7, 2018 (Original Amazon US Review)

I’m extremely impressed with The Secrets of Hawthorne House, which was gifted to me. But unlike other books I’ve won or been given for an honest review, I genuinely loved this book! It begins quickly, draws you in, but never slows, so that once you finish one chapter, you’re on to the next. It’s the story of fifteen-year-old Matt Mitchell, who after losing his mother in a tragic accident and is forced to move far from his former home and life, finds a new life and a strong interest that begins next door. He’s intrigued by the “haunted” Hawthorne House next to his own, a house who’s inhabitant is said to be an old witch. Once he hears the true story of the mansion from his teacher, however, he’s compelled to meet the owner himself. What follows is his delightful relationship with the white haired Lady Hawthorne or Mrs. Carter (ex), and when her extended family comes to stay…with Gerallt. The rest is a mixture of magic and interesting experiences that allow him to get over his nightmares of his mother’s death and the sadness that had threatened to send him spiraling into a depression. I couldn’t wait to reach the end and find out the mysteries of the old house and its inhabitants! It’s such a delightful story and the first one I’ve read by this author, but if this is any indication of his other works or if he continues to write more great books, he has found a fan in me!

4) The Secrets of Hawthorne House. ★★★★★

By Kelly Pfister on October 4, 2018 (Original Amazon US Review)

This is the first book that I have read by this author, and I am glad I did! Well-written and a great story.

3) An adventure that stays with you. ★★★★★

By Lisa Caudill on October 3, 2018 (Original Amazon US Review)

This is my first book by Donald Firesmith, but it definitely won’t be my last. The Secrets of Hawthorne House is not just one adventure but many, and I didn’t want the book to end. The characters are defined and complex, and it draws you in so subtly that I found myself talking to the characters! I would love to see these characters again. (hint, hint Mr. Firesmith)

2) Love this book. ★★★★★

By Crystal Fenerty on October 3, 2018 (Original Amazon CA Review)

Wonderful book and wonderful story. Kept me guessing what would happen next as you get drawn into the two families and their building friendships. Recommend for all readers!

1) The unlikely encounter of 2 families, one having mysterious origins and powers. ★★★★★

By Philippe Lebacq on October 3, 2018 (Original Amazon FR Review)

The unlikely encounter of two families: one very normal, the other with mysterious origins and powers. I loved it. To read urgently.
Thank you Donald for allowing us these delicious moments of reading.
Philippe.

4 Star Reviews

2) A Fun Easy Magical Read ★★★★

By Retired Techie on November 30, 2018 (Original Amazon US Review)

For me this was a fun easy read about middle school kids doing mostly middle school stuff. And magic. Magic the users of are to never tell anyone else! But what do you do when you say and do a little too much in front of your best and only friend because of some bullies? For Gerallt, someone who’s never had electricity; therefore no TV, computers, cellphones; and learns about their wonders from his only friend, that becomes his dilemma. So he breaks his ‘code of silence’ so as not to lose his friend. What happens after he reveals his secret not only puts him in jeopardy of losing his gifts, but his whole family could as well. Of course, the story has a happy ending.

This story seems to be targeted toward middle schoolers, but it’s a fun read for any age, which keeps moving throughout. Another nicety for me is the story has a conclusion, not a cliffhanger (I am Not a fan of cliffhangers), though it ends with the ability to continue their adventures.
I gave it 4 stars because of a few grammar errors, mainly missing words that one can figure out after re-reading those sentences. But other than that, I found it a fun read. I almost titled it: What if you, an ‘outsidah’, learned you can perform magic?

2) Young adult read ★★★★

By ClovieD (Brandy Boysen) on October 26, 2018 (Original Amazon US Review and Original Goodreads Review)

Not sure if kids book or young adult perhaps. Just enough romance to not be icky for young’uns.
I was grabbed early, not wanting to put it down, eager to see what adventure next came for the boys.
Now I’m eager for the next book!

1) Very entertaining read ★★★★

By Kindle Customer BAZ on October 1, 2018 (Original Amazon UK Review)

What an interesting read. Follow Matt through his many trials and tribulations, never quite knowing where the next twist and turn will lead, especially when things are not always as they appear. A well-written thoroughly enjoyable read. Baz
I received this book as an ARC from the Author; this is my honest voluntary review.

3 Star Reviews

 

2 Star Reviews

 

1 Star Reviews

 

Comments are closed.