Hell Holes 3 – Reviews

← Back to Hell Holes 3: To Hell and Back

Summary

 

Stars Reviews Percent
5 Stars 13 87%
4 Stars 1 7%
3 Stars 1 7%
2 Stars 0 0%
1 Star 0 0%
4.8 Stars 15 Review 100%

5 Star Reviews

13) Excellent finale (?) to cap the series with ★★★★★

By Clinton Sites on November 28, 2020 (Amazon US Review)

This novel ties up a lot of the questions that were brought up in the previous two books.
I personally cannot attest to the veracity of the battle conditions the author describes – but the additional section the author provides describing the people and other entities with some research notes added a depth to the novel not often run into.
It started slow to my eyes (at least comparing to the previous novels end) but picks up velocity pretty quickly. Once into the narrative the pace picks up steam and starts running full-out!

12) The best one in the series ★★★★★

By Brandon D. Cooper on November 25, 2020 (Amazon US Review and Goodreads Review)

** spoiler alert ** I enjoyed this book a lot. It was a fascinating read. The scenes taking place in Hell are probably the best scenes in the book, and then the action that immediately happens after they leave is well written as well. And the perspective from the Curatrix Maxima Aileen O’Shannon is the best in the series. Just a fun book, and I recommend reading the first books in the series and Hawthorne House as well, as he is a good writer when it comes to science fiction and fantasy.

11) A 5 star 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 series! ★★★★★

By Margaret on November 21, 2020 (Goodreads Review)

Wow! The adventure continues. Be still my heart!

Once again Donald Firesmith unleashes his all engulfing, heart pounding, action packed paranormal thriller.

This fast, exciting, suspenseful, and clever, imagination grabber, peppered with a little unneeded profanity had me glued to my seat until I turned the last page, read the last paragraph, and closed the book. Oh, I was a little sad. I guess I still wanted more!

Find a copy and find out for yourself. Wow!!

I received a free ARC of this book from BookSirens and this is my voluntary honest review.

10) Very entertaining ★★★★★

By Zippy Inger on November 19, 2020 (Amazon US Review and Goodreads Review)

I really enjoyed this book and series. I’ve read the first 2 a couple of years ago and really enjoyed them. I was very happy to get the chance to read the 3rd in this series. It has a lot of interesting characters. Fantastic plot and is well told. Constant action that keeps you waiting to see what happens next. It has no graphic sexual content but does of course have a great deal of violence, fighting the invading demons. I recommend it for teens and up. I received a free copy of this book and am voluntarily leaving a review.

9) Mark Nutter’s Review ★★★★★

By Mark Nutter on November 11, 2020 (Amazon US Review and Goodreads Review)

Hell Holes 3: To Hell and Back concludes Donald Firesmith’s epic fantasy adventure trilogy. The story centers on the final battle between U.S. armed forces and the host of horrible entities emerging from below to feast on mankind. Aiding the military is an ancient order of demon fighters armed with amulets and spells. We experience the battle through the eyes of Aileen, a 1700-year-old curatrix of the mystical order who maintains her youth with a daily glamour spell. The attention to detail is extensive, in descriptions of everything from nuclear warheads to demon autopsies to Hell itself. The book even includes an extensive appendix with bios and photos of the major players. Hell Holes 3 is immersive and thoroughly engaging.

8) Great book ★★★★★

By Terri on November 5, 2020 (Amazon US Review)

I was given this book to review. What can I say? I loved it! It is the third book in the series, and I enjoyed it as much as the first two books.

7) Satisfying end to the trilogy ★★★★★

By Jerry L. Shannon on November 1, 2020 (Amazon US Review)

To Hell and Back is the 3rd book in the Hell Holes series. Since I’m giving this a 5-star review, and it’s the 3rd book of the series, I’d say that if you haven’t read the first two . . . yeah, you need to buy them and get busy reading. With that said, it’s been a long time (at least in my mind) since the 2nd book (“Demons on the Dalton”) was written, so I had been anxiously waiting on this book for a long time. In the meantime, I checked out another of the author’s novels – “Secrets of Hawthorne House”. Another great read, but I digress. “To Hell and Back” was a very satisfying ending to the Hell Hole series. With the 3rd installment, we’re familiar with the main characters and what’s at stake. It’s not until the 2nd half of the novel where that the action picks up, but the 1st half was very interesting with all the training exercises involving the main characters and the strategy for taking the war to Hell itself, literally. Although the idea itself is not exactly original, I really liked this author’s treatment of devils/demons, imps, gargoyles, trolls and all sorts of other hellish monsters from lore of old being explained as off-world aliens rather than of religious origin. Aliens or otherwise, the author does a good job at portraying their evil natures and intentions. One unique thing the author did that intrigued me was in providing a photo gallery of the characters along with short biographies at the end of the book. These weren’t computer models or drawings, but real photographs of the characters. I don’t know if the actual people in the photographs were friends or fans of the author’s who contributed their likeness to his work, but it was definitely something unique and out of the ordinary for a work of fiction. As I mentioned, this is the 3rd and final installment of the Hell Holes series, but it did leave it open-ended enough that additional post-war conflicts could be explored in the universe created by the author. I don’t know if it’s going to happen or how long it would take before we see another novel, but I’ll be the first in line for it.

6) Another great book. ★★★★★

By Raymond Quick on November 1, 2020 (Amazon US Review and Goodreads Review)

I enjoyed the first two books and hoped he would write another. He didn’t disappoint me. Both in writing another book and one I enjoyed reading. Now I want another book in the series, wrote and told him so. And again he is not disappointing me. He said there is more to come. Just like the Harry Potter series I loved, I will have to learn to wait patiently as the magic flows from his keyboard.

5) A Trip To Hell ★★★★★

By Ann Keeran on November 1, 2020 (Amazon US Review and Goodreads Review)

Super exciting thriller that will take your breath away! The heroes of the story literally travel to Hell and fight evil on its own turf. Book 3 in the series is filled with intrigue and suspense. Don’t miss out on To Hell and Back.

4) My wish fulfilled! A great, suspenseful ending!!! ★★★★★

By G. Graham on November 1, 2020 (Amazon US Review and Goodreads Review)

I’ve been waiting patiently (yeah, I know, writers have to write first!) for the 3rd book, AND IT’S FINALLY HERE! I loved the first two so much because of the action, imagination, suspense, and twists. While I thought they were good, THIS ONE runs right over them! What a fabulous book. I couldn’t put it down and read it in 2 days! My wife wasn’t happy because I put off stuff around the house, but a man has gotta be a man sometimes. Just don’t tell her I said that.

3) Super Imaginative Book in an incredible series! ★★★★★

By Amazon Customer on October 31, 2020 (Amazon US Review)

I really enjoyed reading this third book in the series. What a pleasure. Don Firesmith brings every character to life, and his ability to describe the environment is superb. His prose brings everything to life in the reader’s mind. The book arrived two days ago, and my daughter grabbed it from me and read it first because she had read the others in the series and wanted to know the rest of the story. She burned through it in a day. I recommend this book and this author to anyone with an imagination. Well done, Don! Super job!

2) TBD ★★★★★

By Crystal Fenerty on October 30, 2020 (Goodreads Review)

Absolutely loved this book. Well worth the wait in my mind. I truly like how each book in this series is written from a different person’s point of view, yet are a consistent story throughout. To avoid any spoilers I will just say that I look forward to further books on some of the newer characters. To gain insight into the story from before the three books written. Happy reading to you all. Definitely recommend this book to others.

1) Great Characters ★★★★★

By Melanie Adkins (Kissablysweet1) on October 23, 2020 (Goodreads Review)

Aileen O’Shannon, Jack and Angela made it to the military base. They figured they were home free now. Then they learn just how bad things are. When the President decides to send troops into one of the hell holes, Aileen and her secret order volunteer to be part of the mission. The group will train with some of the men to learn a new way of fighting.

WoW! This book is well written and has some of the most colorful characters you’ve ever met. Mr. Firesmith is a master at weaving a story around you. The book will pull you right into the action. I’m in love with this series. We need more, Mr. Firesmith. I’m well and truly hooked on this book. I’d love to see this book as a TV series. Maybe even blockbuster movies. If you haven’t read this series, you’re missing out.

I found no issues.

I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it will knock your socks off. A copy of book provided by the author, and I voluntarily reviewed it.

4 Star Reviews

1) amazing !! ★★★★☆

By Linda Vieira on Nov 20, 2020 (Amazon Canada Review)

rec’d complimentary copy via voracious readers only from the author!
great book!
had me from the start!
grab yourself a copy and enjoy 🙂

3 Star Reviews

1) Meh! ★★★☆☆

By Stable Village Idiot on Nov 16, 2020 (Amazon US Review)

The first two books in this trilogy were actually but this book seemed to be a throw-away. I don’t know if it is because this came after he wrote a screenplay for the first book or if he just lost interest but To Hell and Back is just plain boring.

The book can be broken into 3 section. The first section was the preparation to attack the demon homeworld. Why give me a detailed breakdown of their visit to a base exchange and let me know the individual item they bought. Sorry, but shopping in person bores me let alone reading about someone shopping. The third section is about the aftermath and all the awards and accolades the survivors get. Blah! Blah! Blah! The attack on the demon homeworld was interesting but not enough to save this book. I purchased this book, read it, and immediately deleted it. In all honesty, I would only recommend this book if you just have to see what happens at the end of the trilogy.

2 Star Reviews

None

1 Star Reviews

None

Comments are closed.